The Forbidden Fruit

“Welcome to the danger zone
Step into the fantasy
You are not invited to the other side of sanity
They’re calling me an alien, a big-headed astronaut
Maybe it’s because your boy Yeezy get ass a lot”

We can all agree, believer or not, one of the greatest stories ever told is of course about Jesus Christ. Artists widely make reference to this story (be it in a good or bad light… it’s totally up to them) for obvious reasons, it’s the greatest story ever told, it has remained relevant for this long and will continue being relevant until the end.
I’m not gonna preach nor shoot the sentiment behind this story as I myself am merely just a student of life.

“I wrote the gospel of giving up (you look pretty sinking) but the real bombshells have already sunk” -Fall Out Boy

Fall Out Boy's "This Ain't A Scene" music video shot

Fall Out Boy’s “This Ain’t A Scene” music video shot

The Gospels speak of how Man (Adam and Eve) sold into eating the forbidden fruit of (knowledge) good and evil, I’ve mentioned this in one of my previous posts, the whole idea of man succumbing to the knowledge of good and evil is still in play so many years later, how?
Well, while society hints about the “secrets” of the world, we don’t think twice about googling and trying to uncover this tightly wrapped knowledge of good and evil, metaphorically, anyone and everyone who has done this has eaten the “forbidden fruit”… Just like Adam and Eve did.
This leads to the question, Is going after such knowledge still seen as a sin?, who knows?

I remember a while back, I got all my wires in knots when I started hearing about secret societies and satanic symbols… I tried reading up on it, most of it was very confusing, not only that, it was very hard for me to buy…
That’s when a young lady by the name of Candice Mncwabe shared a bit of advice with me.
She made me realise that I didn’t need any of this knowledge about occults and what not.
She told me that if I needed any knowledge, “God” was the word/name I was meant to Google… It was so profound… Isn’t that what God wanted from Adam and Eve?, for them to hold on to his name, his love and only that?

Yes, Knowledge is power, but if you ask me, stillness of heart is just as important… be still, don’t let your soul wander off… you may just lose yourself. Without stretching this out any longer than I have to, I move on.

What the hell does all this rambling about good and evil have to do with music anyway?
Everything!
As a black kid who had a taste for rock music… particularly the harder stuff, I got a lot of warnings from people telling me I was listening to the Devil’s music.
But it was only when Pop and Hip Hop was said to be “evil” that I started paying attention to reasons behind such notions.

kesha-639-110812

Though I wanted to find out about the truth and “hidden messages”  behind the music we listen to, it’s “truth”, good or bad wouldn’t be enough for me to stop listening to any of my music…
Where do I stand?, I’m still not sure, for all we know, this is a weird publicity stunt all or at least most artists are buying into for relevance.

IlluminatiWatcherDotCom-Katy-Perry-Dark-Horse-Illuminati-Eye-Horus

If you’re still reading this, you probably love music just as much as I do, music speaks to our souls.
To  many people in many cultures, music is an important part of their way of life.
Ancient Greek and Indian philosophers define music as tones ordered horizontally as melodies and vertically as harmonies. Common sayings such as “The harmony of spheres” and “It is music to my ears” point to the notion that music is often ordered and pleasant to listen to.
Music is where our souls live, with joy our hearts bounce off the hi-hats with sorrow our spirits moan along to the bass line as our souls sink into the beat…
To be told that I wasn’t supposed to listed to certain genres and or artists made me feel like I was being robbed of that… it made me rebel… of course as with any situation there was music that welcomed me as I am/was as I hummed the same language with it…

“So you take the left, I’ll take the right
Under arrest, we’re under fire
I don’t want to go to heave if I can’t get in
You take the low I’ll take the high
You lock the gate, I hear the choir…

‘Cause I’m no criminal
I’m not your enemy
All I have is life…”

-O.A.R

With a more establish state of mind I no longer rebel, at least not in that sense, though there are songs I can never stop listening to even though I am aware of the anti-christ or “illuminati” implications within them.
“Professional Griefers” by Deadmau5 featuring Gerard Way of My Chemical Romance comes to mind, with hard beats and heavily distorted guitar stabs, you can’t help but jam along to this number…

220px-(2012-08-14)_Professional_Griefers

If you’ve read about all the “illuminati signs”, the album cover alone should speak volumes to you
Though it’s the lyrics that get to me…

“I like the sound of the broken pieces
I like the lights that assigns where she sits
We got machines but the kids got Jesus
We like to move like we both don’t need this

God can’t hear you, they won’t fight you
Watch them build a friend just like you
Morning sickness, XYZ…”

297144_3347607668874_6082623_n

The rest of the lyrics are written in what one may call the perspective of a devil complex as they go: …Just give me a life to plead
 Another world outside that’s full of all the awful things
That I made…

dmaxresdefault

Then we have songs that warn us of this “secret society” though some are more subtle than others, to a sharp ear the warnings are always present… these songs not only warn but promise victory against this secret society regime.

“The crimson tide is flowing through your fingers as you sleep
The promise of a clean regime are promises we keep
Do you like it rough I ask and are you on to task?
The calicoes of Pettibon where cultures come to clash“- Red Hot Chili Peppers in “Monarchy Of Roses”

Niggas In Paris video shot

Niggas In Paris video shot

Then we have “Uprising” by Muse, with lyrics like, “They’ll try to push drugs that keep us all dumbed down
And hope that we will never see the truth around
Another promise, another seed
Another packaged lie to keep us trapped in greed… Interchanging mind control
come let the revolution take its toll
If you could flick the switch and open your third eye
You’d see that, we should never be afraid to die…”
It doesn’t take a rocket scientist to see what they’re on about.

“…What does it mean?
No one knows what it means, but it’s provocative… gets the people going”- (spoken words featured in “Niggas In Paris” by Jay Z and Kanye West)

“What He Means” is a song by South African rock band Just Jinjer.
With opening lyrics: If there is grace in this world, If there is light on this Earth, Let us use it, Let us see it, Starting right now.
The song carries a universal message of how man finds “light” to darken anyone else who hasn’t found that exact “light”.
If you look at all the churches/ministries in the world today, in spite of them all claiming to be praising the Alpha and Omega, they still put each other down… they’re so good at seeing each other’s flaws and are quick to point fingers.
“What He Means” by Just Jinjer reminds us how we shouldn’t let the knowledge we think we have come before being brothers and sisters.

justjnjrgtrfeat

“Can we be down with ourselves?
Respectful and mindful of one
Of one another, your significant other
Your sister, your brother…”

About Ndumiso Mncwabe

When beautiful melodies tell us horrible things and grisly sounds tell us the kind truth. This is where life and music meet. They say music has the power to inspire change, I say music has the power to inspire vibes. Good vibes and bad vibes. It also has the power to inspire thoughts, but most importantly, for it to inspire change, it must inspire conversation. I smell music, I speak music. View all posts by Ndumiso Mncwabe

Leave a Reply

