XX

“They play it safe
are quick to assassinate what they do not understand
They move in packs
Ingesting more and more fear with every act of hate on one another
They feel most comfortable in groups
less guilt to swallow
They are us
This is what we have become
Afraid to respect the individual
A single person within a circumstance can move to change
To love herself
To evolve”

ad1342dd

“Window Seat” video shot

Spoken by Erykah Badu at the end of her “Window Seat” video, these words are directed to females, to help empower them, though in a broader spectrum, these words are to call each and every one of us out as humans.
They provoke us to step away from The Mass Mentality Of Conformity, they encourage us to strip away the very shells that hinder our growth, our evolution as individuals. They remind us of our freedom, it’s beauty and how it is constantly haunted by our monkey sees, monkey do tendencies, yes, I’m talking about that alone together dance. Conformity.

erykah-badu-window-seat-520x293

Erykah Badu stripping down in “Window Seat” video

Women… where do I start?
Yes, In Roctressess I did emphasis my profound respect for women, what I did not mention is how I secretly fear them.
Nurtures?, yes they are, though I feel that the above “Window Seat” poem describes women perfectly. Firstly, they move in packs(this is also one of the reason I fear them, for someone who walks alone, I’m always out numbered). As a pack, they are quick to assassinate what they do not understand, us men being from Mars and them being from Venus means we’re somewhat “strange” which means we’re always the first to be assassinated, hence we hear ladies passing on comments such as “All men are dogs” etc.

We are not your enemies, yes, you may have had bad experiences with us men in the past, We also have bad experiences with the opposite sex though it’s always important to see each person as an individual and not to burden one with mistakes they know nothing about. I talked about this in Living Vision.

I’ll play the macho man and pretend that I or we can handle being disregarded by women for being members of the opposite sex. What really concerns me is when women are against each other. The first time I ever heard of “PHD(Pull Her Down) Syndrome” was from a lady… it’s alive and kicking, “Ingesting more and more fear with every act of hate on one another”

“This is how I show my love
I made it in my mind because
I blame it on my A.D.D baby
This is how an angel dies
I blame it on my own supply
Blame it on my A.D.D baby”

Screen_20140815_204322

Women abuse is an issue talking alone can’t eradicate. Recently covered by the great Macy Gray “Sail” by Awolnation talks the same tongue “We Found Love” by Rihanna ft Calvin Harris and “Love The Way You Lie” by Eminem ft Rihanna speaks.
They each speak of a situation where the female protagonist is enduring an abusive relationship, though love seems to be alive, violent passion viciously strangles all hopes of a happy ending… til’ the abused finally realises that she is the captain of her own ship, til’ she finds it within herself to “sail”, to move on… realistically, this is the most effective way to decline women abuse.

Sisters, mothers, daughters… if they’re leaving marks on you, emotionally, physically or otherwise… go on, SAIL.

katy_perry_roar

“Roar” video shot

“A single person within a circumstance can move to change, To love herself, To evolve”

About Ndumiso Mncwabe

When beautiful melodies tell us horrible things and grisly sounds tell us the kind truth. This is where life and music meet. They say music has the power to inspire change, I say music has the power to inspire vibes. Good vibes and bad vibes. It also has the power to inspire thoughts, but most importantly, for it to inspire change, it must inspire conversation. I smell music, I speak music. View all posts by Ndumiso Mncwabe

Leave a Reply

