Intellectual Freedom (The More I See, The Less I Know)

Accused of being a song about how people use sex and drugs to make themselves “feel good”, “Feel Good” by The Gorillaz knocks on various social and political issues we’ve been faced with since day one.

It talks about how we as fathers, mothers, brothers, sisters, daughters, sons have lost sight of our most authentic fundamentals. Yes, love is free, yet we continuously misplace it as the salty sweat rolls down our eyes stinging the sight away as we blindly chase our temporary highs.

As the wind kisses the windmill, it in turn tightly hugs our God-given water from the depths of mother Earth, giving us life, giving us love as the blades forever chase each other.

“Windmill, windmill for the land
Turned forever hand in hand
Take it all in on your stride
It is ticking, falling down
Love forever love is free
Lets turn forever you and me
Windmill, windmill for the land
Is everybody in?”

-The Gorillaz

fantasy-escapism

A year ago, I started talking about genuflecting penitently, what!?, alright, lets go a few steps back.
They say what you see in others is a reflection of yourself, right, lets skip a few more steps forward.
The problem with us humans is that we worship God in fear of what’s out there and what we see in others and in ourselves, that’s what I call genuflecting in a penitent way, well at least that’s what I understand it to be. Going on, I feel worshiping God should spawn from our natural love for Him and just that.

“Having heavy conversations ’bout the furthest constellations of our souls, We’re just trying to find some meaning in the things that we believe in, but we’ve got some ways to go”

-The Script

A few years ago I drowned in my passion to try to understand religion, which is wrong? which is right?… I questioned a lot of things about the word of God, I was so bought by the idea of me loving and worshiping God not because it’s the right thing to do, but because His existence made sense to me.
In this quest I learned a lot, I was told that, not knowing but believing in the name of God was or carries the whole essence of faith.
It was when I heard that those who do not “understand” the name of God do not belong to Him, that my jaw dropped… I started questioning myself, was I doomed from the start? was I really born for hell?

“I tried pushing evolution as the obvious conclusion of the start
It was for my own amusement saying love was an illusion of a hopeless heart
Of all of the things that she’s ever said, she goes and says something that knocks me dead
You wont find faith or hope down a telescope, you wont find heart and soul in the stars
You can break everything down to chemicals
But you can’t explain a love like ours
It’s the way we feel, yeah this is real”

-The Script

We all come from different homes and different backgrounds. We all relate to situations differently, we don’t all get the same jokes though we are all human, and being human means that primarily or naturally we tend to assume that everyone around us will get our jokes, that our acts of kindness will be well received. unfortunately, this isn’t always the case.
No good deed goes unpunished is the rhythm of the season and our disinterest in trying to understand or appreciate each person or gesture needs no reason.

1776686

What seems simple or straightforward to you may be relatively ambiguous to the next and yes, we’ve all heard about how ambiguity is the devil’s volleyball.
Whether we find good or bad in ambiguity, for the most part it all depends on one’s state of mind. I’m talking about the person you see in the mirror.

 

Umlazi-20140821-01744 (2)

MGMT “Kids” video shot

Umlazi-20140821-01745 (2)

MGMT “Kids” video shot

About Ndumiso Mncwabe

When beautiful melodies tell us horrible things and grisly sounds tell us the kind truth. This is where life and music meet. They say music has the power to inspire change, I say music has the power to inspire vibes. Good vibes and bad vibes. It also has the power to inspire thoughts, but most importantly, for it to inspire change, it must inspire conversation. I smell music, I speak music. View all posts by Ndumiso Mncwabe

3 responses to “Intellectual Freedom (The More I See, The Less I Know)

  • faatimaishere

    You are very open-minded, good quality to have. 🙂
    Very philosophical questions…are you interested in philosophy by any chance?
    So interesting, expands the mind and can be humbling…depending who you speak to.

    Liked by 1 person

    • ndumisomncwabe

      Haha, depending on who you speak to you might very well be accused of being on drugs or something when you get all philosophical by laying everything on the table.
      To answer your question Faatima, I’m very interested in philosophy, my intellect/knowledge could do with a lot of work but love it. I love trying to make sense of everything.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

