The Mad Adventures Of Super Girl

245A88D600000578-2893285-Sweet_song_Kanye_West_released_the_single_Only_One_on_Wednesday_-a-16_1420134965369

As a kid I remember a time in my life when I was so overwhelmed by all the great music being released at the time, part of me started fearing the possibility of artists running out of new good beats , new tunes, new melodies, new music. I couldn’t imagine anything ever possibly topping what was then currently on the radio.

I’m Alright In Bed But I’m Better With A Pen couldn’t have featured a better artist to convey the message I was trying to convey in it, that artist of course being the arguably most underrated artist of our time, Cyndi Lauper.

Back in ’06 The Soul Candy crew released “Time After Time”, to my young ears, it sounded so fresh, no, it sounded genius, it was magic to my ears… ’til my mother heard me play it, that’s when she broke it down to me. Originally done by Cyndi Lauper, “Time After Time” wasn’t as fresh as I thought it was, at least the melody and the words weren’t, and that ladies and gentlemen was when I really started understanding the whole concept of reworking and “sampling” songs. Of course we will get “new” music but there’s a million classic songs that can still be reworked and tweaked to don the sound of the season, to be relevant to the buying generation… some bands have made a career of this… reworking songs, Westlife being obvious suspects, One Direction is also bordering on that direction, and if you’re a fan, you’re probably mad at me for saying that, you’re also probably 12 years old and of course wouldn’t know which classics they’ve reworked.

With this new year we’re in, we can expect tons of new music, and with that, we’ll probably get an okay amount of “covers”. Covers can go either way, they can be better than the original, like when rock band Seether decided to do “Careless Whisper” by George Michaels/WHAM or when Florence + The Machine did “You’ve Got The Love”, When Marilyn Manson did “Tainted Love”, when The Fray did Kanye West’s “Heartless”… I could go on and on. On the other hand, one can easily hate an artist for screwing up with a great song, like when Miley Cyrus attempted singing “Smells Like Teen Spirit” by Nirvana…

Just looking at our itunes local charts, focusing on some of the top ten numbers, at number 7 we have the song that took us to 2015, “Koze Kuse” by DJ Merlon ft Mondli Ngcobo, a song about getting down til’ dawn, yet with a decent amount of attention, one can understand that it’s less about the current but more about party vibes that have already been experienced and being able to live off those high times. At number 3 we have the spanking new Kanye West ft Paul McCartney release titled “Only One”, a song Kanye feels was sung to him and through him by his late mother Dr Donda West to his daughter North West as in the early development of the song whilst listening to the recording, Kanye couldn’t recall actually singing the words “(Hello my) only one” which happens to be the meaning behind “Kanye”, a name his mother picked for him. At number 1… well, you won’t believe this, but at number 1 we have a cover song, Ben Haenow’s rendition of One Republic’s “Something I Need”, I can’t say if it’s better than the original but it definitely has South Africa and the rest of the world buying. Let’s see who’s at the top next time. Cheers.

About Ndumiso Mncwabe

When beautiful melodies tell us horrible things and grisly sounds tell us the kind truth. This is where life and music meet. They say music has the power to inspire change, I say music has the power to inspire vibes. Good vibes and bad vibes. It also has the power to inspire thoughts, but most importantly, for it to inspire change, it must inspire conversation. I smell music, I speak music. View all posts by Ndumiso Mncwabe

4 responses to “The Mad Adventures Of Super Girl

Leave a Reply

