She Takes My Breath Away

“Frozen as snow I show no emotion whatsoever so
Don’t ask me why I have no love for these bad wording bad words
Bloodsucking succubuses, what the bad word is up with this?
I’ve tried in this department but I ain’t had no luck with this
It sucks but it’s exactly what I thought it would be”- Eminem in Space Bound

It’s interesting how us guys don’t have feelings or at least how we never bring them up because when or if we do, weak we’re convicted, speak or forever hold your macho, a beat of a macho trend, a seed, a need, a song served up by society we eat the beat that quiets us strong.

Well, maybe there is an exception, if you put your feelings on a rap, roughen them up with ten, twenty, dirty words, you’re winning. Eminem rapped “You take my breath away” in “Space Bound” and he’s still the coolest rapper on Earth… A regular John Doe like you and I would never get away with that. Try saying your girl takes your breath away and the reaction you’ll get will be a little something like this…

eminem-vid

Eminem in “Space Bound”

 

A twist of reality, society preaches equilibrium between genders, the same society that has been practicing a different tune for a millennium, make that eons, it may sound a bit dumb but this time I honestly don’t know how to finish this rhyme, so I’ll just hum the SA itunes top 5 songs, better yet, I’ll count them down for you, no, even better, I’ll just randomly write about some or all of them… wish me luck, this is my last chance to save this post, Heck, who am I kidding? “She Takes My Breath Away”? this bad word post was doomed from the start, but here goes…

Days and days “Take Me To Church” by Hozier and “Thinking Out Loud” by Ed Sheeran have been playing tug-of-war for the runner-up spot ’til a third contender jumped into the party yesterday momentarily claiming its peak so far, yep “Four Five Seconds” by Rihanna + Kanye West + Paul McCarthney made it to #2 yesterday, since then “Thinking Out Loud” has reclaimed that spot, Hozier is 3rd in line with “Take Me To Church” and “Four Five Seconds” is behaving at #4, it’s the newest kid on the block after all, so it sounds reasonable, all three are bowing down to what has been king of charts all over the world for a while now, “Up Town Funk” by Mark Ronson ft Bruno Mars, most of us know Mark for his work with the late Amy Winehouse… remember “Valerie”? Yep, that’s his number, Amy was just featured on it. Lets see how long he can hold down the #1 spot this time. Sorry for not mentioning #5… Wait, I think I just did. Cheers.

 

About Ndumiso Mncwabe

When beautiful melodies tell us horrible things and grisly sounds tell us the kind truth. This is where life and music meet. They say music has the power to inspire change, I say music has the power to inspire vibes. Good vibes and bad vibes. It also has the power to inspire thoughts, but most importantly, for it to inspire change, it must inspire conversation. I smell music, I speak music. View all posts by Ndumiso Mncwabe

Leave a Reply

