The 7th Daily Bread

8550

When it’s over, that’s the time I fall in love again and when it’s over, that’s the time you’re in my heart again, pain runs through my veins, consumed by what I thought I knew, With a different view, I never thought I’d be missing you. Some nights it gets so bad, I almost pick up the phone, Sweetheart is bleeding in the snowcone, So smart she’s leading me to ozone, good times spend together, bad times spent alone, the tone, the moan, the grown, yes grown is time, still, I miss you.

Like All The Small Things, I Miss You is one of those numbers where we get to hear Blink-182 use silence as an instrument in their music, though never completely silent, they are a punk rock band after all. A ballad with breathful backing vocals, I Miss You is said to draw influence from The Cure’s 1983 hit I’d rather not mention.

They say love is a game, to miss someone isn’t, mostly because you have no one to play with or against. It goes without saying, doesn’t it? As far as games go, you win, you lose. As far as missing someone goes, you’re forever a big fat loser, at least that’s how it feels inside. But how does one escape this torture? You can’t. Like a hunger, missing someone is a reminder that you’re alive, you’ll get over it though as long as time is alive, it will surely come back, be it for a different kind of food or circumstance.

 

About Ndumiso Mncwabe

When beautiful melodies tell us horrible things and grisly sounds tell us the kind truth. This is where life and music meet. They say music has the power to inspire change, I say music has the power to inspire vibes. Good vibes and bad vibes. It also has the power to inspire thoughts, but most importantly, for it to inspire change, it must inspire conversation. I smell music, I speak music. View all posts by Ndumiso Mncwabe

Leave a Reply

