The 8th Daily Bread

8551

Push me up against the wall, young Umlazi girl in a push up bra, all she wanted was to ride my car, approached her just to numb my scar, what we have wont take us far, scarlet starlet and she’s in my bed, kinda girl I would never wed, ego fed, vertigo worn, chest is torn, talking pen, faded ink, soft-spoken with a broken jaw, hard broken my feelings stay raw.

When you think of music royalty, Of course The Kings Of Leon come to mind, I’m kidding, Beyonce and Jay Z are most likely to come to mind. More so because Beyonce is often considered “Queen”… sometimes “King”, I’m not sure why, but I’m guessing you have to be a fan to understand. Something that doesn’t take a genius to figure out is that Beyonce is the Beyonce of that relationship. Looking at our local scene, I’m not sure if we have a music “power couple”, but feel free to tell me if you can think of one.

A special time in rock music, mostly because African talent was involved is when we got to have our own Beyonce and Jay Z of rock music. Well, firstly, as South Africans, we all know that Ladysmith Black Mambazo have toured the world, and I remember how excited I got last year when I heard our local band KONGOs were gonna tour with The Kings Of Leon. Upon touring with Evanescence, Seether developed a good music relationship with the American band, more so the frontman Shaun, and Evanescent frontlady Amy Lee as they pursued their dating endeavours.

Though their relationship didn’t last, their music chemistry was evident when both leaders committed vocals on Seether’s “Broken”. Recorded this month eleven years ago (already), The ballad carries a somber tone with haunting violin traces. “The worst is over now”, This number reminds us that once broken, things can only get better, when you’re down, up is the only direction going forward, the minute you start hurting is the minute you start healing.

 

About Ndumiso Mncwabe

When beautiful melodies tell us horrible things and grisly sounds tell us the kind truth. This is where life and music meet. They say music has the power to inspire change, I say music has the power to inspire vibes. Good vibes and bad vibes. It also has the power to inspire thoughts, but most importantly, for it to inspire change, it must inspire conversation. I smell music, I speak music. View all posts by Ndumiso Mncwabe

Leave a Reply

