Never Trust A Happy Song

335035694066aa1a407d56cf5cee0811

Whether we are in denial or not, we’d all like to think that we’ve got our rubbish down. That we are in full control of ourselves, that we know what’s good for us, that we care about others, that we are well-rounded happy humans but hey, life happens, and you know what they say about life screwing us all…

“Turn me on

Take me for a hard ride

Burn me out, Leave me on the other side

I yell and tell it that it’s not a friend

I tear it down

I tear it down

And then it’s born again…”

Yes, I’m generally a happy person, I’ve never experience depression and I can only hope not to ever experience it… With depression, suicidal thoughts are never far behind, personally I’ve never really wanted to commit suicide aside from that one time when I was probably 11 and I was having a lazy day when my grandmother wanted me to go get her something from the store. It made me want to drive my dead through the wall… As much as I can’t really relate to being suicidal, having a drug problem or being depressed, I still enjoy listening to songs of such themes. As sexual as the lyrics above sound, they’re actually about an addiction, a depression, how hard it is to go through either and how both can mental screw one up.

Honestly most Red Hot Chili Peppers songs appear to be about sex yet they’re usually about a lot more than just copulation just like vintage Fall Out Boy songs all seem to be about a girl, a break up or being cheated on when at a closer look they’re about a lot more. “More”= ranging from self-esteem to politics.

The above lyrics from “Otherside” are the climax of the song… you’re probably thinking of that Usher Song aren’t you? If so, I’ll indulge you more, Yes “Climax” by Usher is actually about the climax of a situation between lovers, the word itself may carry an orgasmic undertone, yes the song may be interpreted that way as well but it’s actually about a peak point of a situation, this situation may very well be a fight, the climax point where the couple can either reach their breaking point or realise how important the relationship is to them despite the bad heat leading to the peak of whatever the situation. The verse I’ve quoted from “Otherside” is about the climax or that moment when a drug addict or someone suffering from depression hits rock bottom, after being knocked down so many times it’s this lowest point that the abuser or victim can finally find it in him or herself to completely tear down the wall and reach out to the man on the other side of the mirror.

 

About Ndumiso Mncwabe

When beautiful melodies tell us horrible things and grisly sounds tell us the kind truth. This is where life and music meet. They say music has the power to inspire change, I say music has the power to inspire vibes. Good vibes and bad vibes. It also has the power to inspire thoughts, but most importantly, for it to inspire change, it must inspire conversation. I smell music, I speak music. View all posts by Ndumiso Mncwabe

2 responses to “Never Trust A Happy Song

  • faatimaishere

    So very true, I feel like it’s more about embracing the contrast of life, the inevitable pain. If you suppress pain, it will only get worse and turn into suffering. Pain does not have to be suffering.
    Love,
    Faatima

    Liked by 1 person

    • ndumisomncwabe

      It’s more about embracing the contrast of life? I’m glad you mentioned that Faatima. It’s very important for us to remember that there’s no ying without the yang.
      We forget how good the good actually is when we get it in abundance.
      We have bad times to remind us of the things we have, to remind us of what’s important to us, not to sink us, but to ground us.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

