I’mma Make A Deal With The Bad Wolf So The Bad Wolf Won’t Bite No More

6ada8d20072e1fba0012d3f5aba104c2

They say it’s not about how you start but how you finish.

Yea, I know, it sounds so uplifting, doesn’t it? But I’d like to look at it from a slightly different perspective.

It doesn’t matter how you start because no one really cares when you’re just starting, what you’re starting or why you’re starting it… Like that energy drink advert goes, no one cares about your late nights, no one cares about your early mornings, no one cares why you run, until that final lap…

Well, to be honest, I can’t quite remember the advert word for word.

And yes, as much as I probably messed that advert quote up, I still think I’m smart.

Yea, we’re all certain that we have great minds, but to have a great mind you need to have a brain… A brain, another thing we’re all certain we have though we’ve never seen…

No photographic proof, nothing…

Personally, I sometimes shake my head very hard just to see if I can still feel my brain inside, I know, it sounds strange, but it works… come to think of it, If one day I tried shaking my head and couldn’t feel anything, I’d most probably lose it.

All I’d have left is my face… which would be hard to feel without the aid of my brain and that’s when I’d have no other choice but to jump off a bridge which come to NOT think of it (since at this point I don’t have a brain), would be hard to find without the aid of my… face and eyes…

Can’t Feel My Face is yet another love number by Canadian artist The Weeknd. I think we can all agree that like Neyo, The Weeknd has a “Michael Jackson” quality to his voice, but lets not dwell on that.

What made this track more than just a song about love and it’s pros and cons for me is it’s accompanying video. In the video we get to see The Weeknd doing his thing on stage. Problem is, no one is really enjoying his performance, aside from the most beautiful girl in the video of course… She seems to be very into it… In aw, she can’t take her eyes off of him as she smiles and dances along.

His performance is great from start to finish, but only the “beautiful” girl in the video appreciates it from start to finish, which is perhaps a message telling us that you see what you are… You become what you see… If you look into the darkness long enough, you become the darkness, if you are the good in the world, if you give off goodness, goodness is what you’ll see.

 

 

NOTE: When you start out and no one is impressed, you have everything to gain and nothing to lose, henceforth you are free to do you… Problem is, as soon as you gain everything, as soon as you get high on our love and attention you are doomed to the fire, the desire to continuously get high on our love and praise. But us humans being the fickle creatures we are, it’s only a matter of time before we stop feeding your desire as the fire swallows you whole.

In the Can’t Feel My Face video, almost simultaneously the crowd gets up and starts worshiping The Weeknd’s performance as he’s set ablaze… Now that he knows what it feels like to be glorified by a crowd of praise, he has an addiction, a hunger he never knew. Illuminated by the fire.

 

About Ndumiso Mncwabe

When beautiful melodies tell us horrible things and grisly sounds tell us the kind truth. This is where life and music meet. They say music has the power to inspire change, I say music has the power to inspire vibes. Good vibes and bad vibes. It also has the power to inspire thoughts, but most importantly, for it to inspire change, it must inspire conversation. I smell music, I speak music. View all posts by Ndumiso Mncwabe

12 responses to “I’mma Make A Deal With The Bad Wolf So The Bad Wolf Won’t Bite No More

  • mentalbreakinprogress

    Love your take on this and I love the song, but you know, I never really looked into its deeper meaning and I think the way you break down the song is so on point! Kind of like when I started my blog…I was on fire…I was going to “make a difference” I was going to be as popular as all those other blogs out there…yay MEEEEEE! lol…but boy did I get a wake up call…in the beginning , I would try to write these well thought out articles that I thought for sure would speak to the world. Especially those with mental illness…after almost having my blog for a year, it’s only been in the last 2 months that anything has really started to happen or transpire…why? because I took a month off….I almost deleted my blog…my ego bruised,but I came back and thought….screw it. I am just going to write…period…because I love to write…and if people happen to like it…awesome…if not..oh well, it’s my therapy and they don’t have to notice or like it or care…once I got over myself….and got real with myself both on the inside and in my writing…things have started to change…there has been a flow to things that I was trying to force in the beginning…it’s all about balance…wow who would have thought a discussion about The Weeknd’s song would create such meaningful discussion! So glad we have crossed paths! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    Like

    • Ndumiso Mncwabe

      Cavelle I’m so glad your fire hasn’t died out… Before I go further, I love the energy in your writing and thanks for hosting the meet and greet… For me it was a first.
      I think it’s amazing how your initial attempt to change the world started off as not a change but a realization- a growth as you found security in being authentically you, without trying too hard to impress…

      Since we’re on the subject. 3 years ago I never thought I’d start a blog… I felt it would be like me calling myself a doctor when I don’t have the degree… It would be an insult to real doctors who’ve worked hard to earn the title. I thought me starting a blog would be an insult to serious bloggers because amongst other things, I didn’t see myself as intellectually fit… ‘Til one afternoon when I was listening to “Smells Like Teen Spirit”… The lyrics “I’m worse at what I do best and for this gift I feel blessed” spoke to me. I realized that I didn’t have to be the best blogger, at least not compared to anyone but the best blogger I can be. Ultimately we’re only competing against ourselves. I guess I had my “Oh well, whatever” moment before I started blogging (interestingly enough,”Oh well, whatever” happen to be lyrics of Smells Like Teen Spirit as well)

      Now that you’ve found honesty in your writing, you’re that much closer to touching the world Cavelle… I see you’re passionate about mental health… Are you dealing with any mental illnesses?

      Liked by 1 person

  • mentalbreakinprogress

    I love how you find all these valuable messages and lessons in song lol I’m going to start really paying attention to song lyrics from now on and thank you so much for your support! 🙂 Yes, mental illness and I have gotten to know each other in the last 2 years…turns out we knew each other long before that, we just weren’t formally introduced lol. I have Bipolar 2 disorder and GAD ( Generalized Anxiety Disorder) Since this discovery, I have been introduced to stigma. I have always been a fan of sticking up for the underdog…then I discovered I was one…who was going to stick up for me? I had to dig deep on that one and demand self respect…something I have been running away from for a long time…mental illness or not…the world is not well…not as well as it could be…I’ve realized through writing, so many people are out there…battling the same things…feeling the same things…longing to make a difference and a connection…I try not to get too preachy about mental illness…it’s part of me, yes, but there is more to me than that…at least I like to think so lol…I find there is a fine line between obsessing over a cause with good intention and truly wanting to help others. That is what I have discovered through writing…and the more I write from an honest place, the more people write back…with honesty…it’s so refreshing…to me, that’s where true change starts to take place. I am so glad we have crossed paths. I see many more meaningful discussions in our future! 🙂 Oh, and I also am curious…what made you decide to take life lessons from music? I feel like I should have discovered this myself given I love music and many others do as well but yeah your take on it is very refreshing to me, if we all started doing this I think it would put professional therapists out of business lol

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ndumiso Mncwabe

      I think most of us suffer from GAD but don’t even know it… Do you think it’s possible for one to deal with such an illness (to keep it from being more of a problem than it already is) without being medically diagnosed?

      To answer you question. Honestly, I don’t think I have a proper answer… I always thought we all loved the same songs, that we all enjoyed a good song when we heard one, regardless of it’s genre.
      But somewhere between my childhood and early teens I found myself being part of the minority, the people around me frowned upon my music taste… They dismissed it as “white music” etc… I became more of an outsider. Music was then the only companion I knew I could rely on… I guess that’s when music and I exchanged numbers and soon started sharing our feelings and lessons haha!
      Still I felt I had the responsibility to share the truth I had found in music, how it’s beyond race, age etc but how it makes an individual feel and what it can offer anyone who cares to listen.

      You definitely have good intentions with your writing Cavelle and yes, there’s a lot more to you. I most certainly hope to have more meaning discussions with you :))

      Liked by 1 person

      • mentalbreakinprogress

        To answer your question, yes. In fact I believe this entire world is mentally ill in some way, shape, or form. I mean look at the things happening out there in the world…the list of messed up things we’ve become desensitized to….that are almost considered “normal”…it scares the hell out of me….yet because I acknowledge this truth and even except a medical title for my own truth…forever marks me with stigma…I find that….interesting lol…I love your story about how you and music exchanged numbers lol and you’re right, music is beyond race, age, all kinds of things…music is art that speaks to the soul. It knows no boundaries and speaks through all of that…it’s a shame that like mental illness, people try to take something as beautiful as music and try to fit it in some kind of mold.

        Like

      • Ndumiso Mncwabe

        Cavelle, from where I’m standing, it’s hard for me to stigmatize mental illness nor to understand why anyone would stigmatize it to be honest… Like you said, we’re all human. Not being diagnosed with a mental illness doesn’t mean you’re more capable of make yourself or the people around you happier than someone whom has been diagnosed…
        I’ve heard stereotypes about people living with bipolar, apparently bipolar comes with a very creative “side characteristic”… Actually I’ve heard people WITH bipolar claiming this… How do you feel about it?

        Liked by 1 person

  • mentalbreakinprogress

    I can’t deny that lol it’s true what they say and I can’t even say it’s a stereotype, it’s a fact lol. I have moments of intense creative energy…but it doesn’t last, it’s not consistent and although it is tempting sometimes to go off medication and experience that “high”, in the end…it’s not worth it…when I first started taking medication I was like “great, now I’m just going to be boring” but that’s not true…it just means I have to dig a little deeper that’s all…because honestly all that manic energy doesn’t mean anything if you can’t harness it and balance it all out and it can actually be dangerous in some circumstances because you have no care in the world, you feel you can do anything and you do not ever consider there might be consequences to your behavior until it’s too late. There are different levels of mania….it’s not the same for everyone but yeah the main danger of mania is the crash and burn that can accompany it…been there…would rather avoid it lol

    Liked by 1 person

  • Vibrant

    You engage your readers well. You are different and original. I like your writing. Thanks for this intriguing post.

    Love and light ❤

    Anand 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

