Shake It Like a Polaroid Picture

Mr.-Brightside

No, this one isn’t cooler than being cool ’cause this one is about jealousy, it’s such a common feeling which directly makes it a common word and as a consequence over the years has been the name of a handful different numbers. Queen, Nick Jonas, Will Young as well as Paris Hilton all have a song titled “Jealousy”. If like myself you’re from South Africa you probably think I’m forgetting one of the biggest songs to come from our country over the last few years by a certain Hip Hop artist, you’re right, I am forgetting it.

Two of the many aphorisms I live by are… well, they’re not really aphorisms but ideas I carry in my approach to life and everything that comes with it, I’m hoping to one day convey these ideas in forms of beautiful aphorisms tied with a little humor.

1)If you don’t have the ability to feel someone elses pain as if it were you own, you’ll never witness the beauty of celebrating another’s happiness as if it were your own.

2)As soon as you realize that nothing is ever really perfect, that every good thing has a bad day, that every good thing has a price. Jealousy leaves and makes room for reality.

As with everything, there are different types and or cases of jealousy. There’s a particular type I’d like to focus on, on this particular post, the kind that has ended so many lives.

They say the worst part of finding out that your girlfriend or wife has been or is cheating is that you immediately picture her having the greatest sex with that person, even if that person doesn’t do much in bed but in your imagination they’re giving each other everything they’ve got.

 

While he’s having a smoke

And she’s taking a drag

Now they’re going to bed

And my stomach is sick

And it’s all in my head

But she’s touching his chest

Now, he takes off her dress… I just can’t look, it’s killing me

And taking control

 

Rated the song of the decade by Absolute Radio as well as XFM and earned it’s spot as one of the 15 most downloaded rock tracks ever in the United Kingdom, Mr Brightside by The Killers is lyrically about the jealousy and paranoia of a man who suspects his significant other is cheating on him.

Helplessly smothered by cupid’s choke hold, he calls a spade an angel and turns a blind eye.

 

Jealousy, turning saints into the sea

Swimming through sick lullabies

Choking on your alibis

But it’s just the price I pay

Destiny is calling me

Open up my eager eyes

Cause I’m Mr Brightside

 

About Ndumiso Mncwabe

When beautiful melodies tell us horrible things and grisly sounds tell us the kind truth. This is where life and music meet. They say music has the power to inspire change, I say music has the power to inspire vibes. Good vibes and bad vibes. It also has the power to inspire thoughts, but most importantly, for it to inspire change, it must inspire conversation. I smell music, I speak music. View all posts by Ndumiso Mncwabe

Leave a Reply

