We Do It In The Dark, With Smiles On Our Faces

LLTBSSUSSWIN_20151108_204902 (3)

Back In high school I remember having people tell me that I had a boring life. Externally I was always settled and quiet. Internally I was always pacing to and foe exploring what was, what is… an endless world of possibilities.

I couldn’t feel the boredom I was then accused of, Yes I didn’t over indulge my young curious mind with alcohol and company but still, I had everything I needed. No one thing in life is the be all and end all of fun.

We look at what we have, grateful, yes, we are quick to feel sorry for whomever may appear to have less. Truth is, everything is subjective, what’s less for you may not necessarily be less for the next.

Tsotsi, a movie that earned South Africa it’s first ever Oscar Award. In the movie the main character (Tsotsi) has an encounter with a physically disabled drifter… Not convinced that the man is actually disabled but instead is posing as disabled to earn sympathy change from the commuters… After kicking over all his coins he (Tsotsi) asks the man to get up… Now Tsotsi couldn’t understand why someone without an ability to walk, without a home, without a family, without a job would have the will to live… “Just to feel the sun on the street”

 

Went down the hill

The other day

Soul got happy and stayed all day

 

Though back in the 1930s the technology and resources we have today weren’t available, iconic songs like “Trouble So Hard” were written… Originally sung by Vera Hall from as early as 1937 the song has been covered and reworked by a number of artists (most notably Paolo Nutini as well as Moby)… Evidently the song focuses on the troubles we all face as people but most importantly how no one else has a say as to whether another has the best life or if another’s life is worth living or not as our deepest purpose, our deepest joys along with our deepest troubles are known by no one else but us and ourselves…

 

Don’t nobody know my troubles but God

Don’t nobody know my troubles but God

About Ndumiso Mncwabe

When beautiful melodies tell us horrible things and grisly sounds tell us the kind truth. This is where life and music meet. They say music has the power to inspire change, I say music has the power to inspire vibes. Good vibes and bad vibes. It also has the power to inspire thoughts, but most importantly, for it to inspire change, it must inspire conversation. I smell music, I speak music. View all posts by Ndumiso Mncwabe

3 responses to “We Do It In The Dark, With Smiles On Our Faces

Leave a Reply

